Blogs >'s Boys Hoops Run to the Sun

Follow all the coverage of boys high school basketball throughout the state on their way to Mohegan Sun Arena, the site of this year's championship weekend, March 15-16.

Friday, March 25, 2011

50th JCC Schoolboy Classic

The 50th JCC Schoolboy/Schoolgirl will be held April 9 at JCC Center in Bridgeport. The Connecticut girls all-star game will be playued ay 6:15 p.m., followed by the Connecticut boys vs. the New Jersey boys at 8:15 p.m.

The Connecticut Boys team is: coaches Vin Laczkoski (Notre Dame-Fairfield) and Craig Parker (New London). Players: Torin Childs-Harris (New London), Jamill Powell (Bassick), Bryan Galvin (Ridgefield), Anthony Jernigan (South Kent), Freddie Wilson (Hillhouse), Ethan O’Day (Northfield MT Herman), Rohan Brown (East Catholic), Marvin Hampton (Crosby), Oscar Assie (St. Joseph), J.C. Carr (Northwest Catholic).

The Connecticut West girls’ team is: coaches Dave Strong (Masuk) and Catrina Hawley-Stewart (Hillhouse). Players are Sarah Royal (Torrington), Brooke Butkovsky (Masuk), Cherelle Moore (Kolbe Cathedral), Andreana Thomas (Hillhouse), Amber Bepko (Mercy), Heather Framski (Woodland), Briyana Pabon (Newington), Ali Berman (Hopkins), Atong Reyak (Wilbur Cross) and Amanda Amanski (Lewis Mills).

The Connecticut East team is: coaches Dave Shea (Bacon Academy) and Tony Floyd (Bristol Eastern). Players Shianne Walker (Bristol Eastern), Dreisen Heath (Hamden Hall), Damika Martinez (Platt), Margaret Sundberg (E.O. Smith), Kelly Coleman (Portland), Katie Mahoney (Bacon Academy), Kaley Watras (Glastonbury), Kelsey Booth (East Hampton), Sara Binkhorst (Hall), Jahira Smith (Norwich Free Academy) and Kelly Dixon (Bacon Academy).

Tickets are $10 at the door.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

CHSCA all-star games Thursday

The Connecticut High School Coaches Association 36th annual Senior All-Star Festival will be held Thursday at Maloney High. The Class S-M game will be at 6:15 p.m., followed by the L-LL game at 8. The rosters are as follows:

Class S/M West: Coaches: Joe Frascatore (Thomaston) and Tim Swaller (Foran). Players: Chris Borea (St. Paul), Jonathan Boykin (Trinity Catholic), Reggie Finney (Ansonia), Bobby Lippencott (Northwestern), Patrick Miett (Hale-Ray), Mike Odenwaelder (Wamogo), Isaiah Perry (Bloomfield), Yahmad Roundtree (Woodland), J.T. Smith (Hale-Ray), Chase Tarca (Plainville), Al Torrens (Foran) and. Nick Toto (Law)

Class S/M East: Coaches: Jim Reynolds (East Haven) and Reginald Tucker (Classical Magnet). Players: Zach Askew (Vinal Tech), Jerome Harris (Weaver), Kevin Hoff (Career), Ryan McLaughlin (Bacon Academy), Devante Mitchell (Windham), Zach Pierce (St. Bernard), Tim Putnam (Windsor Locks), Taylor Rioux (Valley Regional), Phillip Starks (Prince Tech), Evan Woicik (Somers), Kenny Wong (Classical Magnet) and Suthod Young (Plainfield),

Class L/LL West: Coaches: Nick Augelli (Crosby) and Joel Pardalis (New Fairfield). Players: Oscar Assie (St. Joseph), Kevin Bentivegna (Fairfield Ludlowe), Luis Bridtter (Stamford), J.C. Carr (Northwest Catholic), Tom Doyle (Notre Dame-West Haven), Bryan Galvin (Ridgefield), Marvin Hampton (Crosby), Billy Kimmel (New Fairfield), Lemar Larsen (Wilby), Andre Makris (Pomperaug), Gabe Seidman (Staples) and Trevon Seymore (Kennedy).

Class L/LL East: Coaches: Dan Spellman (East Lyme) and Robert Lasbury (Southington). Players: Ryan Belote (Maloney), Michael Boornazian (Xavier), Rohan Brown (East Catholic), Davonta Valentine (Waterford), Nico Donato (Glastonbury), Tyler Dube (Southington), Daryll Ferguson (Norwich Free Academy), Mike Fraylon (Windsor), Riley Kirsch (Hand), Gerald McClease (Wilbur Cross, injured), Angel Ortiz (East Lyme), Kavohn Townsend (Manchester) and Max DeLorenzo (Berlin).

Tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for students. Proceeds support the Meriden Boys and Girls Club.