Blogs >'s Boys Hoops Run to the Sun

Follow all the coverage of boys high school basketball throughout the state on their way to Mohegan Sun Arena, the site of this year's championship weekend, March 15-16.

Friday, September 14, 2012

Boswell leaves Trinity Catholic

Dave Ruden of the Stamford Advocate reported this morning that Jason Boswell has tranferred from Trinity Catholic to a school in Greensboro, N.C.

A lot was expected from Boswell when he transferred from St. Patrick's in New York during the last off-season. But the chemistry on a team that included guard Shadrac Casimir and 7-foot center Paschal Chukwu Chidiebere never completely worked. The Crusaders lost to eventual Class M champion Career in the quarterfinals.

Chukwu Chidiebere already transferred to Fairfield Prep.

Monday, September 10, 2012

New coach at Wilbur Cross

Wilbur Cross didn't go far to find the ninth coach in Wilbur Cross history...he started the Career girls' program.

That's right - Kevin Walton will be the new coach, taking over for Anthony Hill, who resigned in June.

Walton's resume speaks for itself. Three state championships since starting the program 13 seasons ago.

He admitted the decision wasn't easy to leave a program he not only built from the ground up, but also has four starters returning and will be along the state's best once again.

Walton, 43, is hoping to "resurrect Wilbur Cross to its rightful place as one of the premier programs in the state of Connecticut." That doesn't just mean being one of the best teams in the SCC.

Cross has won 14 CIAC state championships, second-most in state history. But the Governors' last one came in 1985.

Hillhouse has the most with 21 and advanced to the Class LL final last year. Career won its first state title ever last March in Class L over Northwest Catholic. Hyde won its first title in 2010.

You are measured by state championships in the Elm City. Walton won his share with the Career girls. Now he gets a chance to do so on the boys' side.

Here are the previous eight coaches since the school opened as Commercial High in 1920:

Charles Morgan: 1920-1926
James Davins: 1926-1933
Sam Bender: 1933-1938
Thomas Degnan: 1938-1953
Red Verdarame: 1954-1966
Bob Saulsbury: 1966-1994
Jim Reynolds: 1994-2008
Anthony Hill: 2008-2012