Blogs >'s Boys Hoops Run to the Sun

Follow all the coverage of boys high school basketball throughout the state on their way to Mohegan Sun Arena, the site of this year's championship weekend, March 15-16.

Friday, March 22, 2013

JCC Schoolboy New Jersey roster

Below is the preliminary roster for the New Jersey team for the JCC Schoolboy Classic to be played April 14 at 3 p.m. at the JCC in Bridgeport.
Following each player's name is the high school they currently attend and their future college choice. The team will be coached by legendary St. Anthony's coach Bobby Hurley Sr.
Check out previous posts from this blog to locate the Connecticut roster:

Kasim Chandler,Newark Eastside,Quinnipiac
Spencer Weisz,Seton Hall Prep,Princeton
Jahleem Montague,Atlantic City High School,Wagner
Josh Brown, St. Anthony's,Temple
Hallice Kirke,St. Anthony's,Oregon State
Manny Suarez,Marist High School,Fordham
D'Andre Bmbry,St. Patrick's,St. Joe's
Jaren Sina Gill St. Bernard's,Northwestern
Austin Colbert, Gill St. Bernard's, Illinois
Reggie Cameron,Hudson Catholic, Georgetown

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Steidl earns Gatorade award

Kurt Steidl of Ridgefield has been named the Gatorade State Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-6, 185-pound senior shooting guard averaged 24.9 points, 9.5 rebounds, four assists, and four steals while shooting 82 percent from the free throw line this past season, leading the Tigers (18-6) to the Class LL quarterfinals.

A 2013 Connecticut High School Coaches Association All-Star selection, Steidl scored 31 points and pulled down 16 rebounds in a 63-57 win over New Britain in the second round of the state tournament
Steidl has a 3.68 GPA and has helped assist the elderly and on behalf of the Boys and Girls Club of Ridgefield.
Steidl has signed a National Letter of Intent to play basketball at the University of Vermont this fall.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

CHSCA All-Star rosters for tonight

The Connecticut High School Coaches Association Boys' Basketball All-Star Festival will be held Wednesday at Maloney. The Class S/M game will begin at 6:15 p.m., followed by the Class L/LL game at 7:30.
In the Class S/M game, Team Mohegan, coached by Bill Strand (Windham) and John Cessario (East Windsor), is as follows: Mike Bozzuto (Wolcott), Chris Gonnelli (Lyman Memorial), Jon Luster (Valley Regional), Kendall Marquez (Windham), Zach Rollins (Stafford), Julian Sanchez (Windham), Robert Skinnr (Gilbert), Dan Upchurch (Notre Dame-Fairfield), Tyron Williams (Suffield) and Austin Woods (Foran).
Team Pequot, coached by Dan Nemergut (O'Brien Tech) and Kirk Kaczor (Old Lyme) is: Tre-Kel Douglas (Kaynor Tech), Taylor Fortin (Tolland), Dan Garvin (Bethel), Shaquan jackson (O'Brien Tech), Jordan Jennings (Bloomfield), Brandon Marshall (CapitalPrep), Tommy Myers (Coventry), Nick Nemergut (Wamogo), John Stevens (Northwestern) and Tom Whipple (Ledyard).
In the Class L/LL game, Team Constitution coached by Palladino and Smith, is: Tim Blair (Newington), Bernard Brantley (Stratford), Tim Butal (Fairfield Prep), Jordan Butler (Glastonbury), Bobby Bynum (Hillhouse), ac Campbell (Amity), Ian Converse (Woodstock Academy), Nick Fenton (East Hartford), Wade McNamara (East Lyme) and Walter Wright (Wilby).
Team Charter Oak, coached by Larry Kelley (Career) and Tim Tallcouch (Newtown), is: Jahlil Askew (Maloney, Schadrac Casimir (Trinity Catholic), Nick Gaynor (Northwest Catholic), Brandon Kuczenski (Naugatuck), Jon Mitchell (Watertown), Matt Nolting (Bunnell), Keith Porter (New London), Pete Rankowitz (Staples), Kurt Steidl (Ridgefield) and Chris walkr (Manchester).